Blue C Sushi: A Sushi Factory

“What do you want to eat” is probably second most important question next to “Will you marry me?” in this world. Or my world at least. My boyfriend and I finally decided to eat at Blue C Sushi at Stonestown. This place JUST opened up not too long ago. For some I reason I expected this place to be “fancy” – authentic. Surprise surprise, I was totally wrong.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As soon as I walked in, I felt like I was in sushi heaven! Or a factory. Literally from one wall to one walk way is a belt of sushi. If you’ve eaten at a sushi boat restaurant, normally you’re in an oval with the chef in the middle and a little water moat with real boats going in circles. This one loopty loop everywhere! It would come out the wall and head straight straight, make a U turn, make another U turn, come back around, and go into the other wall! My jaw dropped.

I don’t even know where to start with writing this post. But since I got my jaw-dropping first impression out of the way I think I’ll start with the food, than talk about my experience after.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We got LOTS of rolls, I don’t even know where to start. If you scroll through the slideshow, I’ve labeled each roll. Surprisingly, I thought the sushi was just okay. I wasn’t too impressed by the quality. Some were a tad warm – which seemed weird to eat, and others were soggy or tacky. I think the way the food taste has to do with the way they make the rice. I do wish the sushi wasn’t lukewarm but rather cool and refreshing.

Yes, that is a tuna BLT sushi. Topped with tuna, with bacon, lettuce, and avocado in the middle. This dish passed me quite a few times before my curiosity got the best of me. Let me tell you – it did taste like a BLT! I was so amazed and slightly confused at the same time. I really don’t know how else to describe besides saying this roll tasted like a BLT!

Variety: Aside from their quality, they have A LOT of variety. They had solid dishes like noodles, green beans, and gyoza pass by. Even cupcakes and brownies! They’re also nice enough to provide you with a menu telling you everything they offer off the belt and on the belt. Bonus: they tell you whats gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan. Check out their menu here.

Waiting time: We went around lunch time on a Saturday and there was no wait. In fact, it was only about third full. More people did show up but there wasn’t wait. I can only imagine this place getting more crowded as people discover this place has finally opened after 1-2 years of anticipation.

Parking: Well, this is Stonestown! There is plenty of parking because there’s parking lots all around.

Ambiance/Environment: Like I said, this place is quite impressive when you see it! There is outdoor seating and a bar with a big screen TV – perfect for football season if I might add. They do a good job of having half bar seats and half tables. The tables are basically a large booth table attached to the wallside of the conveyor belt. Here’s another bonus tip: If you come with a party of 4 or more and sit at one of these tables, sit inside so it’s easier for you to pick all the sushi! That is of course your friends & family don’t mind. But do keep in mind they will most likely ask you to help reach for a sushi dish. Personally, I think this seating is quite awkward.

Inside is very bright and fun. You almost don’t feel like you’re in a sushi restaurant. A part of me feels like this restaurant is a tad off in the way they decorated with the kind of food they serve, another part of me likes how fun and funky everything is.

I took a video and uploaded it to my instagram if you’d like to see the sushi conveyor belt in action. Just click the play button below!

Overall: This was definitely a fun food adventures. I’d definitely come here to try, or if friends wanted to come and it was their first time. Other than that, I wouldn’t come back, not for awhile at least. I still love my San Mateo sushi spot. The quality here doesn’t quite bring me back but who knows – it might improve! If it’s your first time, I’d recommend coming here to try but don’t expect too much from the food.

Let me know if you guys like this style type of pictures (slideshow) or if you guys prefer I’d post them one by one!

Do you have any sushi recommendations in San Francisco? Let me know below! I can eat sushi all day long.

Follow Me on Food Adventures: TwitterInstagramTumblrRSS   


Blue C Sushi (Stonestown)
3251 20th Ave
San Francisco, CA 94132
(415) 564-8848

website: http://www.bluecsushi.com/
Yelp: http://www.yelp.com/biz/blue-c-sushi-san-francisco


Want a personalized look book? Try something new & get one for free personalized by me here! It’s fun, free, and easy. All you do is sign up, I’ll send you your own look book, and you can shop whatever you like with free shipping!
Thank you so much for your support!!
– Serena, a Keaton Row Stylist 

5 responses to “Blue C Sushi: A Sushi Factory

  1. The music in the restaurant would have driven me batty. I like the conveyor/boat in a moat model, but there’s a definite equation at work in those places. Anything that arrives warm or tacky has made too many trips around the place, or the trip was too long for the food to stay fresh all the way to the end of the line.

    Like

Hey Serena, I'm drooling a little..

